List of works


Mama’s Painting: Louis Riel’s Dream – for Piano Quintet (2 violins, viola, 'cello and piano). Commissioned by the Agassiz Chamber Music Festival and premièred on June 6, 2015.


Satin Shoes – for ATB choir

A Prayer: from Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s Letters and Papers from Prison – for ATB choir


Never to Return – for string orchestra. Commissioned by the Manitoba Chamber Orchestra and premièred on November 27, 2013.


Born by the River – for string orchestra. Commissioned by Manitoba Chamber Orchestra and premièred on February 19, 2013

The Lord is King -  for SATB choir  

Spaces Between – for piano trio. Commissioned by Providence Faculty Trio and premièred on March 17 2012


Shhh – for two or more performers (instrumentalists or singers)

Swish– for SATB choir. Commissioned by Providence Chamber Singers

A Minor Study – for SATB choir

Excerpts from Accrete – for cello ensemble. Arranged in June 2011 for a local cello ensemble performance at the International Cello Festival of Canada.


Through the Windows – for solo clarinet

Fyra, Quatre, Four and Cuatro - for solo percussion

Curlicue - for solo piano. Commissioned by The Eckhardt-Gramatté Music Competition. Performed numerous times (April 30-May 2 2010) during the Eckhardt-Gramatté Music Competition in Brandon, Manitoba and during the winner’s Canadian Tour.


Falling Water – for solo piano

Jeremiah 19:11-12 – for SATB choir. Written for and performed by the Providence College Singers. First performance: March 29, 2009 in Steinbach, Manitoba. Performed numerous times during a choir tour in England and Scotland (April 22 – May 9 2009).


Falling in the Water – for Piano and electronics

And There Was a Great Calm (revised) – for full Orchestra. Winning work of the 2009 CMC Emerging Composers Competition. First Performance at the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra’s New Music Festival on Monday February 2, 2009 in Winnipeg, Manitoba

Sarabande - for solo ‘cello. Performed by Karen Sunabacka on Friday February 13, 2009 in Mitchell, Manitoba.


And There Was a Great Calm – for full Orchestra. PhD Dissertation piece

Tecla – for violin, clarinet, percussion and piano. Performed by the Empyrean Ensemble in Davis, California on May 30, 2007.

 Accrete II (excerpts from Accrete arranged as a suite for solo cello) – for solo ‘cello. Performed by Karen Sunabacka on Friday February 13, 2009 in Mitchell, Manitoba


And Then I Crow – for solo 'cello and electroacoustics. Performed twice by Leighton Fong: May 31, 2006 and February 2, 2007 in Davis, California.


I wonder... – for clarinet, bassoon and percussion. Performed by The Empyrean Ensemble on June 1, 2006 in Davis, California

Accrete – for string orchestra. Commissioned by the Brandon Chamber Players. Premièred February 25, 2005.


Psalm 98 – for SATB choir. Premièred on September 14, 2004 by St. Margarat’s Church Choir in Winnipeg, Manitoba for the diaconal ordination of Preston D S Parsons (Karen Sunabacka's husband)

Perichoresis – for flute, viola and cello. Performed by the Empyrean Ensemble on June 2, 2004 in Davis, California.

The Satin Shoes – for solo voice. Written during a vocal writing workshop with Paul Hillier. Premièred by Karen Sunabacka in March 2004.

Cashier – for solo voice. Written during a vocal writing workshop with Paul Hillier.    

The Skater – for solo voice. Written during a vocal writing workshop with Paul Hillier


Crazing – for five violoncelli. Commissioned by the Agassiz Chamber Players and premièred December 9, 2003 in Winnipeg, Manitoba

Retreat: In the Minds of Our Daughters – a tape piece created with Max/MSP. Performed: July 2005 in Montreal, Canada; March 2005 in Los Angeles, California; March 2005 in Fullerton, California; August 2004 in Dartmouth, New Hampshire; May 2003 in Berkeley, California

Our Daughters – a multimedia opera in one act. MA thesis piece at San Francisco State University


Lights of Home – for solo cello and voice. Prelude of Our Daughters – for trumpet in Bb, vibraphone and viola


Vie & Quell - for String Quartet. Performed by the Left Coast Ensemble in San Francisco California November, 2001

Scherzo - for 5 violoncelli. Performed by the Agassiz Chamber Players on March 25, 2003

Surely I know the Spring that Swiftly Flows - For singer (baritone) and string quartet


Andrea’s Joke - a tape piece created with Pro Tools. Broadcast on CBC during The Signal on February 2, 2008

Great - a tape piece created with Pro Tools

Agnus Dei - for choir (SATB) and solo ‘cello. Commissioned and then performed by St. Margaret’s Anglican Church Choir (March 2003)

Returning –for solo viola

On the Shores - arranged for string quartet. 


A Mother’s Prayer - for solo ‘cello           

On The Shores - for chamber orchestra. Performed by the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra during the Jean Coulthard Reading Session in 2000.

Maud’dib - a tape piece created with Max.

Hiding - for solo piano 

Slow Down - a tape piece created with Max.

The Duke’s Arch - for violin, violoncello and piano

Distractions - for tenor saxophone

Nothing is Subtle - for flute, clarinet in Bb, percussion, actor, and mezzo soprano


Alexander Bay - for solo violoncello.

Revival - for alto saxophone in Eb and piano.

Fishing Together - for piano, violin, viola and violoncello.

Family Sons and Dotters - for clarinet in Bb, violoncello and piano


 Lost - for solo piano.

The Snowflake - for string quartet


Various experiments and improvisations for which I no longer have any record, except the joyous memories.